Permanent Exhibition

Create your future

Lab [Lab]Nobel Q — Questions from Nobel Laureates

How would you answer questions from Nobel laureates?

The Nobel Prize was established by Alfred Nobel, the inventor of dynamite. The prize is awarded to "the person who has contributed the most to the happiness of mankind". In this exhibit, Miraikan presents messages it has received from Nobel Laureates that have visited the museum. The messages are in the form of questions. Please, take time to think about how you would answer these unique questions.

Miraikan conveys respect and recognition through awarding the Honorary Member title to Nobel Laureates who visited Miraikan and support its mission and activities.

Exhibit features questions from following people

Sir Harold W. Kroto(The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1996)
Ryoji Noyori(The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2001)
Tim Hunt(The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2001)
Masatoshi Koshiba(The Nobel Prize in Physics 2002)
Koichi Tanaka(The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2002)
Alexei A. Abrikosov(The Nobel Prize in Physics 2003)
Leo Esaki(The Nobel Prize in Physics 1973)
Rajendra K. Pachauri(The Nobel Peace Prize 2007 ※Prize awarded to the IPCC organization during Pachauri`s tenure as the IPCC's chairman.)
Peter Grünberg(The Nobel Prize in Physics 2007)
Rudolph A. Marcus(The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1992)
Makoto Kobayashi(The Nobel Prize in Physics 2008)
Toshihide Maskawa(The Nobel Prize in Physics 2008)
Akira Suzuki(The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2010)
Shinya Yamanaka(The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2012)
Ei-ichi Negishi(The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2010)
Barack H. Obama(The Nobel Peace Prize 2009)
Brian P. Schmidt(The Nobel Prize in Physics 2011)
Dan Shechtman(The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2011)
Hideki Shirakawa(The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2000)
Isamu Akasaki(The Nobel Prize in Physics 2014)
Sir John B. Gurdon(The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2012)
Takaaki Kajita(The Nobel Prize in Physics 2015)
Satoshi Ōmura(The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2015)
Muhammad Yunus(The Nobel Peace Prize 2006)

As of Nov 2018

Permanent Exhibition