Guests from Japan and overseas(2014)

Miraikan welcomes many researchers and famous personalities from Japan and overseas.
This section introduces the guests that visit Miraikan.

December 17, 2014

Ms. Hiroko Nakamura ( Pianist )

December 3, 2014

Permanent Representatives to the United Nations

November 17, 2014

The Rt Hon Sajid Javid MP (Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport)(center)
Mr. Tim Hitchens (British Ambassador to Japan)(center left)

November 12, 2014

Permanent Representatives to the United Nations

November 12, 2014

Liberal Party of Australia, House of Representatives

November 6, 2014

Mr. Markos T. Rike (Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary) and delegations from the National Science and Technology Information Center of Ethiopia

Ambassador Rike (the second from the right)

October 30, 2014

Mr. André Corrêa do Lago (Ambassador of Brazil to Japan)

October 29, 2014

Dr. A.K. Abdul Momen (Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Bangladesh to the UN)

October 26, 2014

Mr. Shripad Naik (Minister of State for Culture and Tourism (Independent Charge) Government of India)

October 3, 2014

Mr. Pichet Durongkaveroj (Minister of Science and Technology)

October 3, 2014

Mr. M.K Yaakov Perry (Minister of Science, Technology & Space)

September 20, 2014

Mr. Hakubun SHIMOMURA (Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology)

September 17, 2014

Mr. Tomohiro YAMAMOTO (Parliamentary Vice-Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology)

September 16, 2014

Ms. Carmen Vela Olmo (the Spanish State Secretary for Research, Development and Innovation, Kingdom of Spain)

September 6, 2014

Mr. Nick Nielsen (Minister for Education, Church, Culture & Gender Equality, Greenland)

August 21, 2014

Dr. Koichi Wakata(Astronaut, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency)

July 24, 2014

Mr. Damon Albarn (Artist)

Singer and songwriter Damon Albarn, of the famous bands "Gorillaz" and "Blur" which originate in England, visited Miraikan privately in March 2014. His desire to give a performance with robots was inspired by the inspiring atmosphere at that time and was realised on July 24th. He played 4 songs including two from his recent solo album released in April in front of Otonaroid® and other audience members.
Interview movie

July 23, 2014

Permanent Representatives to the United Nations

July 23, 2014

Dr. Shiunn-Shyang Chen (Director-general of National Science and Technology Museum, Taiwan)

July 16, 2014

Mr. Yasutoshi NISHIMURA (Senior Vice-Minister)

July 14, 2014

Mr. Ichita YAMAMOTO (Minister of State for Okinawa and Northern Territories Affairs, Minister of State for Science and Technology Policy, Minister of State for Space Policy)

July 13, 2014

Dr. Ulrich Walter(Astronaut, Institute of Astronautics Technical University, Munich)

July 10, 2014

Mr. Issei Nishikawa (Governor of Fukui Prefecture)

June 12, 2014

Mr. George Takei (Actor, the United States of America)

May 28, 2014

Prof. Dr. Heinz Riesenhuber (Member of Parliament, Former Federal Minister for Research and Technology, Federal Republic of Germany)

May 26, 2014

Permanent Representatives to the United Nations

April 26, 2014

Prof. Brian Schmidt (Laureate Fellow at The Australian National University, 2011 Nobel Prize Laureate in Physics) (2nd person from the right)
Prof. Brian Boyle (Director, Australian Square Kilometre Array Office)(2nd person from the left)

They have given talks at "Exploring the Southern Cross sky through state-of-the-art telescopes - learn about the universe from Australian astronomers -". Also Prof. Schmidt has been presented commemorative of Honorable membership.

April 24, 2014

Mr. Barack Obama(President of the United States)

March 26, 2014

Ms. Midori MATSUSHIMA (State Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry)

March 24, 2014

Permanent Representatives of ASEAN Member States to the UN in New York

March 24, 2014

H.E. Dr. Dionisio da Costa Babo Soares (Minister for Justice, The Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste)

2nd from Left: H.E. Dr. Dionisio da Costa Babo Soares

February 26, 2014

H. E. Mr. Hector Paulino Dominguez Rodriguez (Ambassador, Embassy of the Dominican Republic)

February 16, 2014

Ei-ichi Negishi (winner of the Nobel Prize in chemistry for 2010 and distinguished professor at Purdue University)

February 12, 2014

Center: H.E. Mr. Radinck J. Van Vollenhoven (Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Kingdom of the Netherlands to Japan)

About us